Ali Akbar Rana produced a scintillating performance to smash a quickfire century as UCT Sharjah defeated Sealine Tuskers by seven wickets to emerge champions in the 24th Sharjah Invitation T20 Tournament. The tournament is organized by Sharjah Cricket Council.

Chasing a challenging 192 to win, UCT were off to a rousing start as openers Saleem A Rahim and Akbar Rana fired from all salvos to sharing a brilliant 142-run partnership for the opening wicket. Saleem played a perfect second fiddle before falling for 52 from 42 deliveries consisting of eight boundaries but he was left in awe as his partner played an immaculate innings toying around with the Sealine Tuskers bowlers. Akbar Rana ensured he remained till the end as he fired an unbeaten 115 from just 54 peppered with 12 hits to the fence and four over it. It was his blistering innings that ensured UCT crossed the target with just two balls to spare.

Earlier, winning the toss and choosing to bat first, Sealine Tuskers made a decent start with openers Ashwaq Ahmed and Akash Devkumar steadily adding 50 runs. While Asfaq made 23 from 16 balls including two boundaries and a six, Akash hit a 27-ball 29 with the help of three boundaries.

With a good start ensured, Mansoor Ghauri and Zeeshan Mushtaq further consolidated the innings with brilliant knocks as the duo added a fine century partnership for the third wicket.

Zeeshan was out on 42 where he hit four sixes and a four while Mansoor smashed a crucial 58 not out. Waleed Rahim chipped in with an unbeaten 19 as Sealine Tuskers achieved 191 for three in 20 overs.

The Best Batsman award deservingly went to Ali Akbar Rana of UCT Sharjah for a total 188 runs in the tournament while the Best Bowler award was given to Jude Perera of Singha CC for his total of six wickets. Player of the tournament award was bagged by Zeeshan Mushtaq of Sealine Tuskers for his 257 in four matches.

Brief scores: UCT Sharjah bt Sealine Tuskers by 7 wickets. UCT: 191/3 in 20 overs (Ashwaq Ahmed 23, Akash Devkumar 29, Mansoor Ghauri 58 not out, Zeeshan Mushtaq 42, Waleed Rahim 19 not out). UCT: 193/3 in 20 overs (Saleem A Rahim 52, Ali Akbar Rana 115 not out). Man of the match: Ali Akbar Rana of UCT.

Best Batsman: Ali Akbar Rana of UCT (188 runs).

Best Bowler: Jude Perera of Singha CC (6 wickets).

Player of the tournament: Zeeshan Mushtaq of Sealine Tuskers (257 in 4 matches)