A four-wicket haul from Fayaz Ahmed meant Alubond Tigers defeated OST by four wickets in the 9th Al Dhaid Gold Cup Tournament 2016/17. The tournament is organized by Sharjah Cricket Council.

Asked to bat first at the Al Dhaid Cricket Village, OST endured a terrible start with opener and star batsman Rohan Mustafa falling for a duck.

Saif Janjwa (12, 20b, 2×4) and Ghulam Shabir (19, 30, 2×4) managed to keep things under control as the duo shared a 22-run stand for the second wicket.

But at 58 for five OST were still in a difficult situation before Umair Ali Khan and Ahmed Raza struck impressive half centuries to give OST a challenging total to defend.

Umair Ali Khan smashed 66 from 56 deliveries including three boundaries and seven sixes while Ahmed Raza remained unbeaten till the end to score a 75-ball 64 supported by five fours and two sixes as OST posted 199 for nine in the stipulated 40 overs.

It was a great spell from Fayaz Ahmed who scalped four wickets in his eight overs that had caused lot of trouble for OST. He was well supported by Sultan Ahmed scalping three wickets.

Chasing a relatively challenging target, Alubond Tigers lost a wicket early but Shahid Siddique (28) and Yasir Kaleem (23) put them back on track. Rizwan CP and Muhammad Qasim carried on the good work but lost their wickets after settling in well. While Rizwan made 35 from 47 deliveries laced with two boundaries, Qasim made a 26-ball 31 containing four fours and a six.

Fayaz Ahmed played his part scoring 24 facing 26 balls with the help of two boundaries but it was Samiullah Younis’ unbeaten 29 from 34 balls that ensured Alubond Tigers achieved the target with four balls to spare.

Brief scores: Alubond Tigers bt OST by four wickets. OST: 199/9 in 40 overs (Ghulam Shabir 19, Umair Ali Khan 66, Ahmed Raza 64 not out; Fayaz Ahmed 4/43, Sultan Ahmed 3/36). Alubond Tigers: 200/6 in 39.2 overs (Shahid Siddique 28, Yasir Kaleem 23, Rizwan CP 35, Muhammad Qasim 31, Fayaz Ahmed 24, Samiullah Yunis 39 not out). Man of the match: Fayaz Ahmed. Umpires: Syed Shabir Ali and M Aslam.