Asif Khan scored an unbeaten half century as Sharjah Cricket Club edged past Globelink WestStar by a close six runs to enter the semi-final of the 29th Ramadan Rathath MF Cup 2017, organized by the Sharjah Cricket Club.

Electing to bat first after turning lucky with the coin at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium, Sharjah Cricket Club got off to a rousing start, with openers Asif Khan and Chirag Suri firing a superb 138 runs for the opening wicket in just 14.5 overs.

Both played with a lot of aggression hammering the Globelink WestStar bowlers all over the park. Chirag Suri was the first to depart but not before hitting an impressive 71 from only 53 deliveries powered by seven fours and three sixes.

Shaiman Anwar who joined Asif Khan also put on a fruitful partnership for the second wicket sharing a fine 55 runs. Shaiman Anwar faced only 11 deliveries smashing five sixes during his 35 runs before he was bowled.

Asif Khan remained unconquered till the end as he cracked a superb 83 not out from 52 balls with the help of four hits to the fence and six over it as Sharjah Cricket Club amassed 205 for three in 20 overs.

Chasing a challenging target, Globelink WestStar suffered an early loss but the other opener Laxman Sreekumar along with number three batsman Jiju Janardhan revived the innings with impressive half centuries.

While Laxman Sreekumar scored 53 from 39 deliveries including three boundaries and as many sixes, Jiju Janardhanan played 33 balls to hit 55 supported by three fours and four sixes.

A few quick wickets put Globelink WestStar in a state of bother as the required runrate kept soaring before Puneeth Kumar (20, 14b, 2×6) and Krishna Kumar (35 not out, 17b, 2×4, 2×6) kept Globelink WestStar in contention.

But it was a so near yet so far case for Globelink WestStar as they could manage 199 for six wickets in 20 overs falling short by six runs.

For the winners, Imran Haider and Muhammad Shahzad Manna were both expensive but bagged crucial two wickets each.

While Rathath MF is the main sponsor Rainbow hospitality is the associate sponsor.

Brief scores: Sharjah Cricket Club bt Globelink WestStar by 6 runs. Sharjah Cricket Club: 205/3 in 20 overs (Asif Khan 83 not out, Chirag Suri 71, Shaiman Anwar 35). Globelink WestStar: 199/6 in 20 overs (Laxman Sreekumar 53, Jiju Janardhanan 55, Puneeth Kumar 20, Krishna Kumar 35 not out; Imran Haider 2/41, Muhammad Shahzad Manna 2/38). Man of the match: Asif Khan.