A dominating performance from Bukhatir XI ensured they sailed past UCT Sharjah to emerge champions in the 26th Bukhatir League T20 Tournament 2016 at the Al Dhaid Cricket Village. The tournament is organized by Sharjah Cricket Council.

The final at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium was completely lop-sided affair as Bukhatir XI outclassed UCT Sharjah by a massive 153 runs.

Winning the toss and choosing to bat first, Bukhatir XI made a quick start with openers Khalid Shah (33, 18b, 3×4, 2×6) and Rameez Abdul Kareem (25, 26b, 3×4) sharing a fine 47 runs in just over five overs.

Hafiz Kaleem powered to a fine 66 from only 30 balls with the help of six boundaries and four sixes to further boost the total while Vishnu Sukumaran chipped in with a 21-ball 23 supported by three fours.

Shiraz Ahmed provided the perfect finishing touches as he smashed four boundaries and two sixes during his 17-ball stay to hit an unbeaten 40 as Bukhatir XI posted an impressive 207 for five in 20 overs.

For UCT Sharjah, M Usman picked two wickets.

Chasing a relatively tough target, UCT Sharjah felt the pressure from the start as they lost three quick wickets in the first four overs with just 15 on board.

The jolt was too much for UCT Sharjah to handle as they kept losing wickets before they were shot out for a paltry 54 in 9.4 overs. Only Kashif Dawood showed some resistance scoring 22 from 12 balls.

For the winners, Mohammad Halan was the pick of the bowler claiming four wickets in the 10 balls he bowled conceding 13 runs. Habib Ullah Khan, Mohammad Asif and Justin James, who bagged the Best Bowler Award in the tournament, all claimed two wickets each.

The Best Batsman Award went to Saleem Abdul Raheem of UCT Sharjah and the Player Of The Tournament was Sumit Kumara of Sri Lankan CC.

Brief scores: Bukhatir XI beat UCT Sharjah by 153 runs. Bukhatir XI: 207/5 in 20 overs (Khalid Shah 33, Rameez Abdul Kareem 25, Hafiz Kaleem 66, Vishnu Sukumaran 23, Shiraz Ahmed 40 not out; M Usman 2/23). UCT Sharjah: 54 all out in 9.4 overs (Kashif Dawood 22; Mohammad Halan 4/13, Habib Ullah Khan 2/10, Mohammad Asif 2/11, Justin James 2/20). Man of the match: Hafiz Kaleem. Umpires: Arshad Ansari, Hamid Mukhtar.


Best batsman: Saleem Abdul Raheem of UCT Sharjah – 184 runs.

Best Bowler: Justin James of Bukhatir XI – 10 wickets

Player of the tournament: Sumit Kumara of Sri Lankan CC – 152 runs & 5 wickets.