Globlelink WestStar defeated General Petroleum by 77 runs to enter the quarterfinals in the 29th Ramadan Rathath MF Cup 2017, organized by the Sharjah Cricket Club.

Batting first, Globelink WestStar opener Laxman Sreekumar laid the foundation with a 26-ball 38 including three boundaries and two sixes.

Amjad Javed chipped in with a 25-ball 39 consisting of three boundaries and a six while Vineeth Vishwanath hit a 20-ball 23 as Globelink WestStar posted 187 for nine in 20 overs.

Arif Hadawal was the wrecker in chief as he claimed five wickets in his four overs giving away 36 runs while Fawad Alam claimed two.

In reply, General Petroleum had a wobbly start losing wickets early on. Waged Khan (29, 22b, 6×4) and Ghiyas Uddin (22, 27b 3×4) put on a brief partnership of 30 runs but once they fell things went horribly wrong for General Petroleum as they were shot out for a meagre 111 in 18 overs.

For the winners, Sharan Pinto claimed four wickets in his four overs leaking 24 runs, while Amjad Javed and Aneesh Pillai pocketed two wickets each.  

Brief scores: Globelink WestStar bt General Petroleum by 77 runs. Globelink WestStar: 187/9 in 20 overs (Laxman Sreekumar 38, Amjad Javed 39, Vineeth Vishwanath 23; Arif Hadawal 5/36, Fawad Alam 2/31). General Petroleum: 111 all out in 18.2 overs (Wajid Khan 29, Ghiyas Uddin 22; Sharan Pinto 4/24, Amjad Javed 2/21, Aneesh Pillai 2/24). Man of the match: Arif Hadawal.