Amjad Gul scored a fine half century as Bukhatir XI secured a comfortable seven-wicket victory over Sewa CC in the Sharjah T20 Summer Cup 2017, organized by Sharjah Cricket Club.


Opting to bat first at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium, Sewa CC could muster only 132 for seven in 20 overs. It was a brilliant knock from Babar Ghanzanfar who scored a 50-ball 56 consisting of two boundaries and four sixes that helped Sewa CC reach a challenging total. Abdullah Saheb (23, 27b, 1×4, 1×6) and Sayed Tausif (15, 12b, 1×6) were the other significant contributions.


For Bukhatir XI, Rizwan CP was the most successful bowler who scalped three wickets in his four overs giving away 25 runs while Shad Hamza bagged two.


Chasing a modest target, Amjad Gul hammered an unbeaten 50 from just

28 balls including a four boundaries and three sixes that made Bukhatir XI’s chase look easy. He also shared an unbroken 56-run stand with Adnan Mufti (26, 19b, 2×4, 1×6) for the fourth wicket as Bukhatir XI got past the target in just 14.4 overs.


Muhammad Waseem gave Bukhatir XI a quick start with a six-ball 20 containing a boundary and two sixes.


In the first two quarterfinals, One Stop Tourism will meet EMirates Warriors and Sharjah Cricket Club take on Al Massa Contracting on Friday, 28 July. The following day on Saturday, 29 July, Globelink Weststar clash with Multiplex International while Interglobe Marine face Bukhatir XI in the remaining quarterfinals.


The semifinals will be held on Monday, 31st July and Tuesday, August 1st respectively and the final on Thursday, 3rd August at 8:30pm.


Brief scores: Bukhatir XI bt Sewa CC by 7 wickets. Sewa CC: 132/7 in

20 overs (Abdullah Saheb 23, Babar Ghazanfar 56, Sayed Tausif 15; Rizwan CP 3/25, Shad Hamza 2/27). Bukhatir XI: 134/3 in 14.4 overs (Muhammad Waseem 20, Khalid Shah 25, Amjad Gul 50 not out, Adnan Mufti

26 not out; Hidayat Ur Rahman 2/17). Man of the match: Amjad Gul.