InterGlobe Marine and Multiplex International were the other two teams to book the semifinals berth after registering convincing victories in the Sharjah T20 Summer Cup 2017, organized by Sharjah Cricket Club.

At the Sharjah Cricket Stadium, in the last two quarterfinals InterGlobe defeated Bukhatir XI by 20 runs while Multiplex International beat Globelink WestStar by 25 runs.

InterGlobe Marine secured a brilliant 183 for seven in 20 overs thanks to a brilliant unbeaten ton from Dawood Ejaz who smashed a 60-ball 103 with the help of six boundaries and seven sixes.

He was well supported by Ruwaid Khan (23, 16b, 2×4, 1×6) and some late contributions to ensure InterGlobe Marine had a strong total.

In reply, Bukhatir XI had a bad start with two wickets falling early. Rizwan CP got the team back on track as he hammered a 20-ball 31 including two fours and three sixes while Rameez Shahzad hit 49 from 32 deliveries containing two boundaries and four sixes. But with the required runrate still high and wickets falling at regular intervals things did not go Bukhatir XI’s way as they could manage only 163 for seven in 20 overs.

Vishnu Sukumaran (22, 17b, 2×6) and Shad Hamza (23 not out, 12b, 1×4, 2×6) were the other batsmen to click with the bat.

For the winners, Sajjad Malok claimed two wickets.

In the other quarterfinals match, batting first Multiplex International made a good start with Sapandeep Singh and Akhlaq Butt scoring 37 and 30 respectively.

Mohammad Yasir Ali smashed a 37-ball 55 supported by two boundaries and four sixes to further consolidate Multiplex International innings.

Saad Naseem scored an unbeaten 41 from 32 deliveries consisting of three fours and a six as Multiplex International achieved 202 for five in 20 overs.

Chasing a stiff target, it looked all good till Renjith Mani (31, 21b, 2×4, 2×6) and Puneeth Kumar (68, 39b, 2×4, 6×6) were at the crease. But then a sudden collapse put Globelink WestStar in a state of bother.

Krishna Kumar powered to an unbeaten 41 from 24 balls studded with two boundaries and three sixes but his efforts could not do much of a difference as Globelink WestStar could accumulate only 177 for seven in 20 overs.

Ahmad Naseem was the most successful bowler claiming three wickets while Saad Naseem picked two.

Brief scores: Multiplex International bt Globelink WestStar by 25 runs. Multiplex International: 202/5 in 20 overs (Sapandeep Singh 37, Akhlaq Butt 30, Mohammad Yasir Ali 55, Saad Naseem 41 not out, Abdul Shakoor 16; Renjith Mani 2/49). Globelink WestStar: 177/7 in 20 overs (Renjith Mani 31, Puneeth Kumar 68, Krishna Kumar 41 not out; Ahmad Naseem 3/23, Saad Naseem 2/28). Man of the match: Ahmed Naseem.

InterGlobe Marine bt Bukhatir XI by 20 runs. InterGlobe Marine: 183/7 in 20 overs (Ruwaid Khan 23, Dawood Ejaz 103; Rizwan CP 2/27, Mohamed Halan 2/24). Bukhatir XI: 163/7 in 20 overs (Rizwan CP 31, Rameez Shahzad 49, Vishnu Sukumaran 22, Shad Hamza 23 not out; Sajjad Malok 2/25). Man of the match: Dawood Ejaz