Bilal Irshad came up with a brilliant late half century to guide Mir CC into the quarter-finals of the 29th Ramadan Rathath MF Cup 2017, organized by the Sharjah Cricket Club.

Needing 149 to win at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium, Mir CC saw a steady partnership despite the fall of an early wicket. Abdullah Azhar (21, 17b, 3×4) and Imad Mushtaq (22, 20b, 4×4) put on 42 runs for the second wicket but once both perished Mir CC lost wickets in quick succession to put the team in a real state of bother.

From 46 for two, they slipped to 72 for six before Bilal Irshad came up with a scintillating innings that changed the outlook of the game.

He fired an unbeaten 29-ball 52 consisting of four boundaries and three sixes and also shared an unbroken 46-run partnership with Awais Mazhar who cracked 21 from nine balls containing three fours and a six as Mir CC overhauled the target in the penultimate over.

Earlier batting first, Metal Plast powered to 148 for nine in 20 overs with Sameen Kandanarachi top scoring with a brilliant 55 from 50 deliveries peppered with six fours and a six. Mlinda Pushpakumara chipped in with 24-ball 30 with the help of three sixes.

For Mir CC, Abdul Rehman and Abdullah Azhar claimed three wickets each.

In another Group C match, Nasir Aziz claimed a six-wicket haul while Wajahat Butt hit a fine century as Alubond Tigers defeated Sharjah Cricket Club by seven wickets.

Batting first, Sharjah Cricket Club posted 184 for eight in 20 overs thanks to fine knocks from Chirag Suri (41, 35b, 3×4, 1×6), Shaiman Anwar (46, 21b, 3×4, 4×6) and Muhammad Shahzad Manna (38, 23b, 2×4, 3×6). Nasir Aziz had an expensive four overs giving away 46 runs but managed to pick six wickets.

In reply, Wajahat Butt scored a quickfire 65-ball 109 supported by six hits to the fence and 11 over it while Mohammad Qasim contributed 37 off 26 balls as Alubond Tigers achieved the target in 18.3 overs.

While Rathath MF is the main sponsor Rainbow hospitality is the associate sponsor.

Brief scores: Mir CC bt Metal Plast by 3 wickets. Metal Plast: 148/9 in 20 overs (Sameen Kandanarachi 55, Minda Pushpakumara 30; Abdul Rehman 3/19, Abdullah Azhar 3/24). Mir CC: 151/7 in 19 overs (Abdullah Azhar 21, Imad Mushtaq 22, Bilal Irshad 52 not out, Awais Mazhar 21 not out; Mlinda Pushpakumara 2/17, Saheb Malhotra 2/27). Bilal Irshad.

Alubond Tigers bt Sharjah Cricket Club by 7 wickets. Sharjah Cricket Club: 184/8 in 20 overs (Chirag Suri 41, Shaiman Anwar 46, Muhammad Shahzad Manna 38; Nasir Aziz 6/46). Alubond Tigers: 187/3 in 18.3 overs (Mohammad Qasim 37, Wajahat Butt 109 not out, Amjad Gul 22 not out; Muhammad Ashraf 2/36). Man of the match: Wajahat Butt.