Skipper Nazir Aziz led from the front with a brilliant allround performance to guide Alubond Tigers to the final in the 9th Al Dhaid Gold Cup Tournament 2016/17. The tournament is organized by Sharjah Cricket Council.

In the semifinals, Alubond Tigers defeated Multiplex International by 60 runs.

Put into bat first at the Al Dhaid Cricket Village Grounds, Alubond Tigers lost a wicket an early, but Faizan Asif (14) and Yasir Kaleem put on a 49-run partnership for the second wicket.

Kaleem carried on the good work sharing another fine stand with Rizwan CP to add 46 runs for the third wicket.

While Kaleem hit 39 from 54 balls consisting of seven boundaries, Rizwan CP scored 30-ball 27 including six fours and a six.

Fayaz Ahmad played his part scoring 15 from 14 balls before Samiullah and Nasir Aziz came together to give Alubond Tigers a huge total. The duo milked a superb 82-run partnership for the sixth wicket as Albuond Tigers posted 219 for nine in 40 overs. Samiullah scored 41 from 54 balls peppered with three hits to the fence and one over it and Nasir Aziz remained unbeaten on 44 from as many balls studded with four boundaries.

For Multiplex International, Raziq Khan claimed three wickets while Abdul Haq and Mohd Altaf picked two each.

In reply, opener Balwinder Singh made an aggressive start with 28-ball 31 containing a boundary and three sixes.

Aklaq Butt kept the progress under control as he scored a steady 53-ball 45 but wickets falling at the other end meant Multiplex folded up for just 159 in 31.2 overs.

For the winners, Nasir Aziz scalped three wickets while Sultan Ahmed and Asif Mumtaz pocketed two each.

Alubond Tigers will meet the winners of the other semifinal between UBL and Sharjah Club in the final.

Brief scores: Alubond Tigers bt Multiplex International by 60 runs. Alubond Tigers: 219/9 in 40 overs (Faizan Asif 14, Yasir Kaleem 39, Rizwan CP 37, Fayaz Ahmad 15, Samiullah 41, Nasir Aziz 44; Raziq Khan 3/37, Abdul Haq 2/46, Mohd Altaf 2/18). Multiplex: 159 all out in 31.2 overs (Balwinder Singh 31, Iklaq Butt 45, Obaidullah 17, Bilal Siddique 15; Nazir Aziz 3/44, Sultan Ahmed 2/28, Asif Mumtaz 2/24). Man of the match: Nazir Aziz.