Rizwan CP was unlucky to miss his century by just one run but his brilliant knock ensured Alubond Tigers sneaked past Sharjah Cricket Club by 11 runs in the 9th Al Dhaid Gold Cup Tournament 2016/17. The tournament is organized by Sharjah Cricket Council.

Put in to bat first at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium, Alubond Tigers were off to a flyer with openers Faizan Asif and Rizwan CP adding 56 for the first wicket. Asif departed scoring a patient 36 off 35 deliveries consisting of 3 boundaries and two sixes.

Yasir Kaleem (16, 21b, 2×4, 1×4) joined Rizwan and a fine partnership was cut short before it could blossom as the duo added 36 runs for the second wicket.

Rizwan kept losing his partners but he remained calm and went about his duties judiciously. Despite staying till the end his superb effort did not finish the way he wanted as he remained unbeaten on 99 from 111 deliveries supported by two boundaries. Thanks to his knock Alubond Tigers posted a challenging 199 for eight in 40 overs.

For Sharjah Cricket Club, Anurag Nishad picked three wickets while Khalid Moothosamy and Haacke Van Rouenstein scalped two wickets each.

Chasing a tricky target, Chirag Suri provided the desired start for Sharjah Cricket Club scoring a cautious 58 from 67 deliveries peppered with four boundaries.

Anurag Nishad (15) and Adnan Mufti (34) were the other contributors in the top order.

But Fayyaz Ahmed and Asif Mumtaz bowled well in tandem to scalp three wickets each as Sharjah Cricket Club fell short by 11 runs to be all out at 188 in 38.2 overs.
Kashif Daud (23) and Shiraz Ahmed (15 not out) did their best but their efforts could not help Sharjah Cricket Club go past the target.

For the winners Rizwan CP was the other star bowler to claim two wickets.

Brief scores: Alubond Tigers bt Sharjah Cricket Club by 11 runs. Alubond Tigers: 199 for eight in 40 overs (Faizan Asif 36, Rizwan CP 99 not out, Yasir Kaleem 16; Anurag Nishad 3/31, Haacke Van Rouenstein 2/39, Khalid Moothosamy 2/23). Sharjah Cricket Club: 188 all out in 38.2 overs (Chirag Suri 58, Anurag Nishad 15, Adnan Mufti 34, Kashif Daud 23, Shiraz Ahmed 15; Fayaz Ahmed 3/30, Asif Mumtaz 3/22, Rizwan CP 2/31). Man of the match: Rizwan CP. Umpires: Arshad Ansari and Hamid Mukhtar.