United Bank Limited clinched a thriller defeating Sharjah Cricket Club in the Super Over to book a berth in the final of the 9th Al Dhaid Gold Cup Tournament 2016/17. The tournament is organized by Sharjah Cricket Council.

After the match was tied at 261 at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium, Sharjah Cricket Club put on a disappointing performance in the Super Over scoring only five runs losing two wickets in one over. In reply, UBL’s Syed Maqsood scored a boundary as UBL achieved the target in just four balls.

Earlier, chasing 261 to win Sharjah Cricket Club fumbled in the start but Anfal PM and Khaalid Moothosamy combined well to add a fine 81-run partnership for the second wicket before Moothosamy perished scoring 38 from 37 balls consisting of seven boundaries.

Anfal PM stayed for a brief while thereafter and got out on 53 coming off 64 deliveries supported by four boundaries and a six.

Adnan Mufti and Muhammed Imran further consolidated the innings with fine half centuries and it looked like easy sailing for Sharjah Cricket Club.

Adnan Mufti lost his wicket playing a fantastic knock of 54 off 48 deliveries peppered with five fours while Muhammed Imran succumbed scoring a quickfire 40-ball 63 laced with three hits to the fence and four over it.

When Imran fell on 248 there was still hope as Sharjah Cricket Club needed another 13 runs from nine balls but the last two wickets fell cheaply but still managed to ensure they earned a tie.

For UBL, Mohammed Naveed Saleem claimed four wickets while Mujahid Amin snapped three.

Earlier, asked to bat first, Mohammad Boota smashed a superb century to give UBL a brilliant 261 for seven in 40 overs.

His 107 came off just 84 balls studded with six boundaries and as many sixes. Openers Syed Maqsood (31, 23b, 3×4, 3×6) and Amjad Ali (22, 22b, 4×4) laid the foundation while Babar Hussain chipped in with a 57-ball 37.

Saqlain Haider provided the finishing touches with a 31 from as many balls while Mohammed Naveed Saleem hit a 13-ball 19.

For Sharjah Cricket Club, Zahoor Khan was the pick of the bowlers claiming three wickets while Farhan Ahmed bagged two.

In the final, UBL will take on Alubond Tigers.

Brief scores: UBL bt Sharjah Cricket Club in the Super Over. UBL: 261/7 in 40 overs (Syed Maqsood 31, Amjad Ali 22, Babar Hussain 37, Mohammad Boota 107, Saqlain Haider 31, Mohammed Naveed Saleem 19; Zahoor Khan 3/43, Farhan Ahmed 2/49). Sharjah Cricket Club: 261 all out in 39.5 overs (Anfal PM 53, Khaalid Moothosamy 38, Adnan Mufti 54, Kashif Daud 15, Muhammed Imran 63; Mohammed Naveed Saleem 4/36, Mujahid Amin 3/59). Mohammad Boota.

Super Over: Sharjah Cricket Club: 7/2 in 1 over. UBL: 7 for no loss in 0.4 overs.