Zawar Fareed smashed a brilliant century as United Bank Limited powered to the final by 13 runs but not before the final pair of Globelink WestStar gave them a late scare in the One Stop Tourism 43rd Bukhatir Premier League at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium organized by the Sharjah Cricket Council.

Needing 303 to victory at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium, Globelink WestStar were sailing through till wickets tumbled in quick succession half way through the match and when it looked like they were surrendering the match meekly came an unbelievable partnership in the end but went in vain.

The final pair of Aneesh Pillai and Sharan Pinto adding a whopping unbeaten 105 runs but disappointingly could not make it to the finish line as they managed 289 for nine in 50 overs.

The chase began on a very positive note with Puneeth Kumar and Renjith Mani quickly adding 69 runs for the first wicket in just 52 deliveries.

Puneeth Kumar’s contribution was just 16 from 28 balls before he succumbed.

Renjit Mani did not last long as he fell scoring a quick fire 54 from 33 balls peppered with eight boundaries and two sixes.

Jiju Janardhanan (29, 39b, 3×4) and Anfal PM (32, 39b, 1×6) made significant contributions before both were removed by Umar Farooq who got them bowled.

Vineeth Viswanathan scored a steady 33-ball 24 with the help of a boundary while Krishna Kumar gave him company with a patient 15. At this stage Globelink WestStar were cruising smoothly before five wickets fell in a span of just six runs.

At 184 for nine it looked like it was all over for Globelink WestStar but Aneesh Pillai and Sharan Pinto had other plans. They frustrated the bowlers as they threateningly inched closer towards the target.

But some tight bowling by UBL bowlers in the end ensured they managed to stop the duo at the right time. While Aneesh Pillai hit an unbeaten 63 from 59 balls consisting of seven boundaries and a six, Sharan Pinto scored 36 not out from 45 balls studded with a boundary and two sixes.

For the winners, Mohammed Naveed Saleem, Umar Farooq, Mujahid Amin and Zaheer Maqsood all claimed two wickets.

Earlier winning the toss and opting to bat first, UBL rode on a fine century from Zawar Fareed who smashed 111 from just 105 balls with the help of six hits to the fence and five over it.

He and Muhammed Shakir (58, 99b, 2×4) shared a fantastic 148-run stand for the third wicket before an unbeaten 69 from Usman Saeed off 47 deliveries containing three fours and as many sixes and 22 from Saqlain Haider ensured UBL scored 302 for seven in 50 overs.

The One Stop Tourism 43rd Bukhatir Premier League is sponsored by One Stop Tourism and Delhi Nihari, Cool and Cool and General Petroleum are the associate sponsors.

Brief scores: UBL bt Globelink WestStar by 13 runs. UBL: 302/7 in 50 overs (Syed Maqsood 22, Muhammed Shakir 58, Zawar Fareed 111, Usman Saeed 69, Saqlain Haider 22; Amjad Javed 2/68). Globelink WestStar: 289/9 in 50 overs (Renjith Mani 54, Jiju Janardhanan 29, Anfal PM 32, Vineeth Viswanathan 24, Aneesh Pillai 63 not out, Sharan Pinto 36 not out; Mohammed Naveed Saleem 2/29, Umar Farooq 2/68, Mujahid Amin 2/36, Zaheer Maqsood 2/43). Man of the match: Zawar Fareed.